Go Find Dan!

Dan and I were friends, there was no doubt.  I found that I would go to him first with something I needed or wanted to tell someone.  And I found that he was doing the same with me.  We had a level of trust, a level of transparency and caring just from seeing each other at work each day and at church.  We hadn’t been on any fancy dates and didn’t go “out” in the formal sense of the word, but we talked and shared, a lot.

I said in an earlier post that I heard God say, “That’s him”  the first time I saw Dan.  I didn’t hear an audible voice and I don’t think I was hallucinating.  I truly believe God spoke to my spirit through His Holy Spirit.  That was months before and I was still waiting for something to happen.  Well, it was late one evening and I was finally leaving the church to head home.  I was about to go out to my car and I heard, in my spirit, “Go find Dan.”  Hmmmm, why?

So, I went into the darkened auditorium and there he sat, in the middle of the room, in the dark, alone.  I went over to say hi and he looked a bit upset.  “Are you okay?” I asked. He went on to tell me that he had just gotten off the phone with his ex-fiance.  She told him she was getting married in the next few weeks.  He had called her, hoping that maybe she would consider getting back together.  He told me that when he made the commitment to marry her, it was a lifelong commitment, just as it was when he married his first wife.  He had waited a year or so for her to come back so they could move ahead. But she had decided to move on without him.  I listened and tried to offer some comfort. I didn’t know what to say but that I was sorry for him.  I know he was hurting deeply. And I was moved by the fact that he had waited a year for her to come back.  He was truly committed to her and their relationship.  Commitment was at the core of who he was.

After he calmed down, he said, “If I wasn’t going through all of this, I would ask you out.” I almost jumped in the air!!!  Really!????  Did I hear him right???  But, I contained myself and I quietly said, “I wish you would.”  He said, “But, I didn’t think you would want to go out with the facility guy. ”  I put my hand on his heart and said, “This is what is most important to me; who you are, your character, your heart.  That is what matters most. I’ve been waiting for you to ask me out.”

I moved to go home, saying goodnight.  Did he ask me out just then?  No.  But, I had the feeling it was not going to be too long. Patience is a virtue……and good things come to those who…..

Leave a Reply

